132. Becoming reacquainted with running


When I crossed the finish line for my first mini marathon at the end of April, I’d already decided I was going to run another 13.1 miles this year.  I was sore as hell but still very much in love with running.  I just needed a tiny break to recover and turn my focus to other things for a bit.

That was barely over a month ago.  I’m just now getting back into running regularly, and I feel all wonky with it.  My training for my second half marathon has begun.  Today’s supposed to be an off day, but something came up to where I have an unexpected couple hours without my kiddos.  The weather is gorgeous.  I missed my workout yesterday thanks to the weather.  It would work out so much better for me to do my run, a mere three miles, today instead of tomorrow morning.

And yet, all I want to do at this moment is catch up on the sleep I missed out on over the weekend thanks to work.  So, I’m enjoying a moment of rest while I let lunch settle a little more (that’s my excuse, anyway) and mentally revving myself up to hit the pavement with some of my favorite inspirational quotes and whatnots.

“Running is the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put into it.”

And now I’m off.

7 thoughts on “132. Becoming reacquainted with running

  1. I Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award.
    If you’d like to accept this award then please take it to your blog and pass it on – if this is not your thing then please accept this as a compliment on your blog.

Leave a comment