199. Birthdays


Not even ten am, and my day is already in full swing.  Amazing how children change your life.

Six years ago, my husband and I welcomed our six pound bundle into our lives.  The days of sleeping in on off days and doing as we pleased when we pleased were put on hold, if not put to an end indefinitely.  No complaints.  While very frustrating and exhausting at times, there’s nothing like being a parent.  It’s one role I wouldn’t give up for anything.

So, yes, not even ten am and my day is in full swing.  Seven am brought my now six year old running in our room announcing, “I’m six today!  I can’t wait to be seven!”  Within twenty minutes, B and I were dressed and out the door to enjoy a super healthy, low calorie breakfast of Krispie Kreme donuts and soda.  Then it was onto Target for last minute vacation supplies where B proceeded to hone his bargaining skills.

“Mom, I’ll make a deal with you.  If I promise to be a good boy, and I’m good the entire time, I can get a toy.  Because it’s my birthday.”

Not even ten am, and I’m starting to crash from my sugar high.  Both kiddos are up and at ’em.  For the moment, they’re both content building with legos and singing Phineas and Ferb songs.  I can’t deny that I’m a little jealous of my still sleeping husband.  Lucky dog.  Not that I’d trade a minute of my morning with my special Bday boy.

 

576757_10201119451531528_1114785418_n

One thought on “199. Birthdays

Leave a Reply

