196. Warmer weather, please


There’s nothing like being only 13 weeks into your pregnancy and looking, well, definitively more pregnant than I am.  Last week, one of my coworkers asked, “Just how pregnant are you?”

Sigh.  It begins again.  Each pregnancy, I’ve gotten to hear comments such as, “That’s a big baby,” and “You’re getting so big,” and, my all time favorite, “Are you sure there’s just one in there?”  Between having high fluid from about 16-18 weeks on, a short torso and a tendency to carry my kids in my rib cage during the latter half of my pregnancy, my baby belly has always been on the bigger side.  And it’s no different this go around.

In an effort to have a healthy pregnancy, I’ve been walking/running 3-4 times a week and have been been doing 2-3 miles most days.  Once the weather warms up a bit more and I can bring the kiddos along with me, I’m hoping to average 4-5 days.  I feel so much better when I’m able to get out and hit the pavement.  I have more energy, I sleep sounder, I don’t have as many crazy pregnancy-hormone-mood-swings on the days I walk/run, and my blood pressure has been never been better.  With my first two pregnancies, I was already on medication for my blood pressure at this gestational age.  So, woohoo for walking/running!

But seriously, I need the temp to get out of the 20’s.  After dropping my oldest off for school, I donned my super warm running gear and noticed my uber warm running jacket is getting pretty snug over my pregnant belly.  I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be able to zip it up with the rate my stomach has been growing.  The forecast is starting to look promising, with predicted highs in the mid 40’s to low 50’s with sunshine.  I certainly hope so!  My thermal jacket wearing days are numbered.

 

2 thoughts on “196. Warmer weather, please

Leave a Reply

