193. Peppermint plate


Day three of our activity advent calendar called for making plates from peppermint candies.  I’d seen several tutorials around on Pinterest, and it seemed easy enough.  Bake at 350* for 8 minutes and allow to cool.  It was quite easy, and the kids had a blast.

https://i1.wp.com/sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/577825_4918590805708_1767517211_n.jpg

We baked ours in spring form pans to help keep the peppermints from spreading too thin, which I highly recommend.  It left our dishes nice and thick and not too fragile feeling.

https://i0.wp.com/sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/526682_4918822051489_752940550_n.jpg

I also highly recommend to line your dish with parchment paper, a step I over looked.  It made for a lot more work getting the plates out of the pan.

While super easy, cheap to make, a lot of fun and a lovely end product, I have one complaint.  The plates are pretty sticky, even after having air dried all night.  Stuff keeps getting stuck to them.  I’m not sure if I could coat them with something to help with that.  Any ideas?

4 thoughts on “193. Peppermint plate

  1. Bummer that they are sticky! I thought the idea was really cute. I don’t know what you could do to make them less sticky. Maybe cover them in siran wrap? I know the whole point is that the mints can be used after they are done being plates…but I guess they can’t serve their first purpose if they are too sticky. haha

  2. So adorable!! I’ve never seen this before and I love it! Sad to hear they are sticky, though – if you don’t want to eat them later, maybe try painting them with an acrylic varnish?? I do that for our salt dough ornaments and they’ve been great for two years and counting 🙂

Leave a Reply

