147. I can’t run in this heat


I finally had to admit to myself that I have no serious intentions of running the Hartland Mini Marathon in September.  I did immediately after crossing the Derby City Mini finish line, but the thermostat just kept climbing.  The heat, paired with being back in school and trying to work around my husband’s training for his ultra marathon put me in a bad place for trying to train for my second half marathon.  I feel I can push through a lot, but I am such a wimp when it comes to 100+ temperatures.  I’ve been going back and forth about committing to this race since the end of May.

I will not be running a second 13.1 miles this year.

But, come this fall, I’ll start training for the Hangover Run through downtown Louisville (10 miles on New Year’s Day), and I’m looking for a half marathon at the end of January/beginning of February to train for.  Maybe I’ll think about doing a full marathon while the temps are cool.  Who knows?

In the meantime, I’ll keep focusing on stretching, strength training, and yoga until the temperatures are a little less…extreme.

3 thoughts on “147. I can’t run in this heat

  1. I don’t blame you one bit! I can’t stand the heat. I’m training for a half right now, and I get up at the butt crack of dawn to run so I don’t have to put up with it as much. But I can do this bc I’m a single gal with no kids 🙂 so my time is flexible.

  2. It’s more admirable to make the right decision then to risk your health! Temps have been rising in PA and I decided to start training for my first 10k (Runner’s World in my town of Bethlehem in October) right in the middle of summer. I just started and have quickly realized I need to find ways to stay hydrated and upright (as in not fainting!)!! P.S. Do you live in Louisville? I was just there a few weeks ago!

Leave a Reply

