146. Ten minute sundress


Several months ago, I was perusing the jersey knit section in one of the local fabric stores when I found a wonderfully vibrant print on super clearance.  I had no idea what I would do with it.  Maybe a skirt?  I bought a yard or so, brought it home, tucked it away somewhere and completely forgot about it.  A few weeks ago, the fabric resurfaced as I was tackling cleaning out a closet.  And I still didn’t know what to do with it.

Then inspiration struck.  Earlier this year, I found an incredibly easy pattern for a maxi dress using jersey.  I mean, easy.  Why not do a little tunic dress with the same pattern?

Check out the original tutorial at http://sweet-verbena.blogspot.com/2011/07/boho-maxi-dress-tutorial.html.

Viola!

And in less than ten minutes!  Grant it, I didn’t hem anything, and I think I’ll go back and do that, especially with the sleeves and neck line for a more polished look.  I have more so ugly-it’s-kinda-cute jersey that I’ve had for years, and I might use the basic idea to make a tunic top with it.  We’ll see.  In the meantime, I’m happy with the ten minute dress I made, and it’ will be packed for vacation (I can’t wait!)

6 thoughts on “146. Ten minute sundress

  1. How super cute is that? I pulled up the tutorial and I’m really excited about trying it. I’m pretty new to sewing. Honestly been playing with my machine for a little while and got my first official “paper pattern” today (a goofy apron). But I can’t wait until I can sew clothes for myself. Even more excited when I lose enough weight that I can make clothes look good on me!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

