127. Tomato Zucchini Risotto


It’s been a long day.  I was up entirely too early for me for my son’s wellness appointment.  I wish I would have ran this morning when I had the opportunity, but I just couldn’t seem to get going until it was time to rouse my little man to head to the doctors.   Mental note, remember that I am a night shift nurse and do not make early morning appointments.
My son, like most other five year olds, is by no means a fan of shots.  We had two today as well as a finger poke.  It was tragic.  And the tDap vaccine hurts.  I had to get it for work.  Ouch.  So, B has been a little pitiful.  We had my nephew over this morning/afternoon, which was a wonderful distraction, but as for the rest of the day, there was much limping and whimpering and a slightly elevated temperature.  So, we had a “movie theater”, ate popcorn and cuddled on the couch while the littlest one napped.  It was a nice break.
Our evening was spent in the kitchen.  Between sewing more cloth napkins and Angry Bird masks, making homemade play doh and cooking dinner, we were in the kitchen forever, or so it seemed.  Still not done with those wretched adorable masks.  Hopefully I can finish them tomorrow before work, although there’s a nasty forecast involving tornado warnings according to my husband.
The play doh was oodles of fun.  We’ve made it many of times before.  I won’t buy the store bought stuff.  My kids eat it.  So, I make my own, usually with natural food dyes, so it’s no big deal if they sneak a few bites in.  Unfortunately, natural dyes don’t always yield pretty and vibrant colors.  This go around, we tried a Pinterest recipe that used jello as the dye.  The colors are nice, although I don’t think the green is particularly bright.  And let me tell you something about this recipe.  It tastes horrible, especially the black cherry.  It smells good, but the taste is beyond atrocious.  Bitter and salty.  So go ahead, kiddos.  Try it.  You won’t like it.
Last but not least, I tried a new recipe that was OMG delicious.  Tomato Zucchini Risotto.  Everyone devoured it.  My baby girl said “mmm” with each bite.  It will be made again.  And again.

The photo doesn’t do much for the dish, but trust me, it’s super tasty.

And now for the recipe!
Tomato Zucchini Risotto
  • 2 Tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion, diced
  • 3/4 cup Arborio rice
  • 3/4 cup dry white wine
  • 3 cups stock, veggie or chicken
  • 1 zucchini, quartered and sliced
  • About 2 tablespoons total of fresh basil and oregano
  • 1/2 tomato soup (not condensed)
  • 1 diced tomato
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Melt butter, add the onion, and cook until transluscent, about 3-4 minutes. Add the rice and toast it, stirring constantly, 2-3 minutes. Pour white wine into rice and allow to almost completely evaporate.

Add stock to risotto, and stir constantly until the liquid has almost completely been absorbed.  This is about a 20 minute process.

Before the stock is completely absorbed, toss in the zucchini and diced tomatoes.  Also stir in your tomato soup.  Once the zucchini starts to soften, stir in your fresh herbs.  Note, if you’re using dried herbs, add them with the stock to get your full flavor.

Once everything is nice and tender and all of the liquid is absorbed, stir in your parmesan and enjoy!

6 thoughts on “127. Tomato Zucchini Risotto

  1. The rice looks absolutely delicious!! And I have made play-doh before with Jello… definitely smells yummy… but definitely tastes horrible! Yuck.

Leave a Reply

