Running withdrawal


It’s been, what, over two weeks since my last run?  That’s really not that long, is it?  But today, it hit me like a ton of bricks.  I miss running.  Not just a “I felt really good running and it’d be nice to hit the pavement again” kind of missing.  More of a “I don’t feel right, have a lot of tension in my neck and feel all fidgety” kind of missing.  I am itching to run.  So much so, that I think I might just wake up a little early tomorrow and brave the blazing summer heat that will be in full effect at three pm and go for a quick mile or two.  Or maybe I’ll lace up my shoes when I get off from work tomorrow morning, and am dead tired, and try to run when before the heat is at it’s peak.  Hmm…what to do, what to do?

I attempted to get fitted for new running shoes today at my father in laws running shoe store, the super awesome Pacers and Racers, but I managed to bring three or four other sets of customers in behind me.  My husband had five different shoes already laid out for me.  I tried on two, but needed smaller sizes.  And that’s when the flood gates opened.  If I hadn’t had my daughter with me, I may have stuck it out and waited to try the rest on and give each a trial run, but my little bitty made trying on numerous pairs of shoes damn near impossible.  Maybe I can swing in Sunday before work.

Potential contenders for my new shoes include

  • Asics Cumulus or Nimbus
  • Brooks Glycerin or Ghost
  • New Balance 880

I can’t remember which of the Asics shoes was at the top of my list, but truth be told, it was at the tops based on looks more than anything.  Yes, it felt good for the minute or two I had it on, but the real test will be running in it.  So, we’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Running withdrawal

    • I’ve been running in Brooks since last year and have been very pleased with them. My biomechanics have changed quite a bit since I was first fitted in them, so I’m curious to give a few other shoes a try and see what feels best.

  1. I’m a big fan of New Balance. I overpronate, so their stability shoes work great for me. But every runner fits differently! I’m getting ready to write an article on that topic actually!

Leave a Reply

