On the road again and random acts of kindness


Today I ran for the first time since the mini.  It wasn’t as amazing as I had hoped it would be, but it still felt pretty great.  The temperature is 90 degrees now, and it wasn’t much cooler at 10:30.  This was only the second time I’ve run this year with such a hot temperature, and it’s going to take some getting used to.  Oy.

My left arch is thankfully feeling much better, but it still bothered me during the run.  I took it easy and just did a mile.  During that mile, I nearly stepped on two bird carcasses and a live snake.  It was a bit adventurous.

When I got back home, I noticed the rest of the front lawn had been mowed.  For those of you who didn’t read this a while back, we have a battery operated lawn mower (another way we try to be green).  The battery is rechargeable.  A few weeks back, something happened to the charger cable, and it quit charging.  My husband kind of dragged his feet about ordering a new cable, so by the time the replacement cable arrived, our grass was considerably out of control.  It was a mini jungle.  Because the grass was so high, it’s taken a few sessions to mow all of our lawn.  There was a small section in the front yard that didn’t get mowed because the battery had conked out.  It was pretty comical seeing our lawn neatly mowed with this random wild patch.

Well, the wild patch was gone this morning.  Initially, I assumed my husband had taken care of it, but it wasn’t him.  So, some nice person, neighbor or stranger, mowed that patch for us.  Thank you, whoever you are.  You made me very happy.

 

4 thoughts on “On the road again and random acts of kindness

  1. I’m going back home to temps in the upper 90’s from temps here in Portland in the 40’s. Running is going to be brutal for awhile until I get acclimated to the heat. Boo summer.

Leave a Reply

