Mental vs. Physical


My head and body are waring with each other.  I wish they’d cooperate.

My brain wants to:

  • Run
  • Work in the garden and plant the hydrangeas
  • Sew my lovely new black and white chevron fabric into a cute little circle skirt with an aqua under skirt that will just barely peak out
  • Run
  • Sweep and mop the floors
  • Mow the lawn
  • Tackle a new embroidery project
  • Run
  • Study and take this week’s quiz so I can be done with the cardiovascular system
  • Buy mulch to put in the front and side garden
  • Finish getting the veggie garden ready (more weeding)
  • Finish painting the master bathroom
  • Organize my daughter’s closet
  • Run

My body wants to:

  • Take a nap
  • Read my book
  • Watch Phineas and Ferb with my son while my daughter naps
  • Stay in bed and hope my left arch starts feeling better.

Realistically, what will happen with the rest of my day:

  • Studying
  • My pathophysiology quiz
  • Dinner with my in laws
  • Cleaning the floors
  • Maybe read a chapter or two of my book

I’m the kind of person with a major to do list each day and the majority of the items checked off by bedtime.  I took it easy pre mini because I felt like I was getting sick and wanted to avoid a full blown infection at all cost.  I’ve taken it easy since the mini because my body finally gave into the bacteria/virus that’s been lurking around and because I was so miserably sore the first 36 hours after running the mini.  I’m feeling much better overall. I was quite pleased anticipating feeling up to going for a run tomorrow.

And then my left arch went bonkers last night.  WTF?!  Just a quick trip to the grocery store had me limping.  And while, yes, I said I was feeling better overall, I still feel a little cruddy.  Just some congestion, fatigue and a slight headache.  Mentally, more than anything, I’m itching to go for a run.  Even just a mile or two.  Physically, I know I’m not up for it.  Physically, I want a nap.

2 thoughts on “Mental vs. Physical

  1. I know how you feel. I’m in Portland visiting my daughter after the Eugene Half and all I want to do is run in these awesomely cool temps. I’m hobbling around on screamingly sore quads and my allergies are going crazy from all the flowers blooming, but all I really want to do is run.

Leave a Reply

