24 hours later…


Wow.  It was about this time yesterday I crossed the finish line of the Derby City Mini Marathon.  It’s a tiny bit surreal.  If it wasn’t not for the soreness and IT band pain, the race would seem ages ago.

The upper respiratory infection that has been brewing over the last week has finally made a full blown appearance.  I’m glad it held off until after the race.  It’s quite possible the race was just what this gunk needed to throw me into sickness mode.  It’s a soup and juice kind of day.

Thankfully, I didn’t have to work last night.  Friday night, one of my coworkers sent me a text asking if a “sudden illness” would strike after the race, meaning was I going to call in.  I told her I would be fine.  I wasn’t anticipating how sore I would be.  After my last long run, which was over two weeks ago, I wasn’t terribly sore at all, so I imagined that was how I’d feel post mini.

Wrong.  This is how I felt after that wretched Papa John’s 10 miler with those miserable, nasty hills, except this go around I’m sore in all sorts of random places.  For example, my left arm is sore.  My husband says it’s from carrying my water bottle.  I’m also having some right side flank pain.  And, of course, there’s the biggie: quad and hip pain.  Ouch.  Thank goodness for Bio Relief and The Stick.

There aren’t any official race photos up yet, but that’s not unexpected.  With 18000 participants, I imagine it’ll take a bit of time to sort through all of the photos.  The results are up.  Official time was 2:59:24, not to far off from my unofficial Garmin time of 2:55:44.  Overall place was 10060.

I’m going to take a few days off from running, mostly because my throat feels like it’s on fire and the incessant coughing.  Then I’m going to start Operation Make Ani a Stronger, Faster Runner.  Hill work and speed work.  My next race isn’t until the end of July, but there’s a 10K at the beginning of June that I’m eyeballing.

But all of that is still a ways away.  For now, it’s fluids, soup and sleep for this girl.

6 thoughts on “24 hours later…

  1. Congrats on your race. I ran Boston two years ago with a sinus infection and bronchitis. Not fun. I got sick two days before the race and somehow crossed the finish line. My slowest finish time so far! Hope you feel better soon.

  2. Great job on finishing your race!! Such an awesome feeling, right?! Hope you’re fully recovered and enjoying all your post race running.

Leave a Reply

