Why run a mini marathon?


Six days and counting, people!  How excited am I?  Majorly excited.  I.  Cannot.  Wait.  I have 13.1 on the brain.  So, as I count down to the Derby City Mini Marathon, enjoy the next six days worth of mini marathon tidbits, goodies and fun stuff, starting with 13.1 Reasons to Run a Half Marathon, taken from http://www.active.com.

13.1 Reasons to Run a Half Marathon

  1. It’s a challenging, but manageable distance.   Yes, I totally agree.  It didn’t seem that way in the beginning, but now, totally manageable and attainable.
  2. You’re not ready to run a full marathon.  Yes, I totally am not ready to train for a full marathon.  Life is busy now, but I have been able to train for the mini without much of a problem.
  3. There are countless races to choose from.  True.  There are half marathons all through the year that are in a drivable distance from us if I decide to train for another.
  4. You have a thing for bling.  I get a medal after the mini.  My first medal.  Woohoo!
  5. You’re contemplating running a full marathon.  Why, yes.  Yes I am.  Not for a long while, but I am in fact thinking of tackling 26.2 miles.
  6. You want to recover quickly.  As a busy mom/nurse/student, I need to be back on my feet as quickly as possible.  I unfortunately have to work the night after the mini marathon, so I need to recover uber quickly.
  7. There is less risk for injury with a half marathon than the full.  Well, duh.
  8. You like to party.  This one made me giggle.  Races are so much fun.  The energy of the crowd is amazing, and there’s so much fun afterwards.
  9. You want to take your running to a new level.  5k and 10Ks are something to be proud of, but I definitely wanted to go beyond that.  I wanted to prove to myself I could do it.
  10. You want to burn some extra calories.  Some?  Some?!
  11. You want new kicks.  Yes, I got new running shoes just to train and run the mini in.
  12. Your wardrobe needs some upgrading.    I did get new clothes just for running long distances in.  New things are fun.
  13. You like to travel.  Eventually, I want to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon, and you can bet we’re going to plan a fun little family vacation around that run.  We’ve done several mini vacations around my husband’s various runs.

13.1  Bragging rights.   This isn’t from the website.  This is my 13.1 reason.  I can say I did it.  And I get this sticker for my car.

Why do you run?

 

5 thoughts on “Why run a mini marathon?

  1. Mini marathon? The half really should stand on it´s own merits– it´s still 13.1 stinking miles!!! I have run two and it´s mini nothing! 😉 It really should have it´s own name… ´Cause it´s hardcore! Best of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

