The jacket


About eight years ago, I bought a denim jacket that I absolutely fell in love with.  I loved it.  I wore it all the time.  I took it with me on my honeymoon to Ireland.  Then, in fall of 2006, I had just found out I was pregnant with my son.  I had just started nursing school.  I gained about 80 pounds during my pregnancy and only lost about 20 of it after my son was born.  Needless to say, I couldn’t wear my beloved jacket any longer.  I had a lot of fabulous clothes prior to getting pregnant that all ended up at goodwill.  The jacket was one of those few pieces I held on to until the day I lost all of my baby weight.

Well, that was nearly five years ago.  I have since taken my boards, started my nursing career, added another little one to the family, and I’ve yet to get back to the pre pregnancy weight.  A year ago, I got pretty serious about dropping the extra weight I’ve been carrying around.  20+ down, another 20 some odd pounds to go.  I did really well throughout last summer, and if I could just get back to being serious about watching my calorie intake, I could probably shed the rest relatively easily with as much as I’m running.  My will power is on the back burner for the moment.  I think I’ll bring it forward so I can reach my weight goal.

While I still have a ways to go to get to my ideal weight, I was super excited when, on a whim, I tried the aforementioned jacket on and found it fits.  Still a bit snug, but a year ago there was no wearing it.  When I tried to cram myself into it then, I couldn’t move my arms.  Now, I’m pretty comfortable in it until I zip it up.  But the fact that I can zip it up, makes me excited.

Now to get serious again about loosing weight.  I have my ten year class reunion approaching, and of course I want to look my best.  So, I guess it’s time to bust out MyFitnessPal again and start counting the calories again.  I want my jacket to fit like it used to.

5 thoughts on “The jacket

  1. Awesome way to go! It is the best feeling in the world when clothes fit again! You look amazing! Keep up the great work! YOU CAN DO THIS!

    All the best,
    Brett,
    notimetow8.com

Leave a Reply

