The Zombies are coming!


Best.  Race.  Ever.

Today my husband and I ran the 1st annual 5K Zombie Survival Run, and it was so much fun.  We were given a belt with three flags that represented you brains.  As you ran through the course (which was in beautiful Cherokee Park) you had to dodge the zombies as they tried to get your brains…flags.  There were some quick moving zombies.  Some of them chased you.  Some of them were in groups and would try to gang up on you.  There was screaming and fake blood.  Runners dressed up in combat gear, gas masks, had “weapons”, and there were even a couple of guys running around in little bitty speedo covered in fake blood.  Let me tell you, it was cold this morning.

Throughout the race, people were laughing, screaming, and making references to The Walking Dead, 28 days later, and every other zombie movie and show out there.  Hilarious.  Very few people were listening to music on their iPods.  Everyone was having a great time, and the crowd’s mood was infectious.  I’ve never run a race where I was laughing over 90% of it.

But jeez!  Hills!  And speed work!  My two least favorite things about running.  I’m going to work on them so that next year, I can kick butt.  I did okay this time around.  I don’t have an exact time yet.  I didn’t wear my garmin, and I forgot what the clock said at the end of the race.  37 ish minutes.  Better than my first 5k last month at 41 ish minutes.

Bottom line.  It was a lot of fun, and I can’t wait to do it again next year.

Pre Zombie run

Trophies and random body parts

Gas masks!

Post race, one flag left, and a smear of "blood" on my arm

My snazzy race shirt

11 thoughts on “The Zombies are coming!

  1. This is the type of event I would love to participate in…eventually! It sounds like a lot of fun and something you would barely notice “running” in. Gives me something to look forward to!

  2. I’ve seen a few zombie races in my local area. I wasn’t sure about joining. But after reading your review, I think I’ll give it a go next year. Laughing during my run? Is that possible??

Leave a Reply

