Speed work


“Speed.  I am speed.”

Thanks, Lightening McQueen.

Today, I did a bit of speed work.  I will be honest.  Speed work is…not something I like, to put it mildly.  I feel that going from not being able to run for more than 30 seconds without feeling like I would die to being on track for my mini marathon (21 days away!), I’ve already pushed myself quite a bit.  I already can run a mile way faster than I could when I first started running.  Why, oh why, would I want to push myself even more and try to run faster?

Well.  Because I just do.  While I’m immensely proud of where I’m at today with my running, I want to run faster.  So, speed work.

So, throughout my one mile run today, I had spurts during the run in which I ran a quickly as I comfortably could, which was about a 9:30 pace, and alternated between that pace and about a 12:15 pace.  Ultimately (and ultimately may be far off in the future), I want to be able to run a nine minute mile.  Then, I want to run a 5K in with a 9 minute pace.

But first things first.  Finish the mini marathon.  After I reach my long distance goal, then I’ll start working on the speed goal.

Next on the running agenda, The Zombie Run tomorrow morning.  A 5K with zombies!

2 thoughts on “Speed work

  1. 9 min/mile is my ultimate goal. I envision one day I’ll run it, then run a 5k with the 9min/mile pace, then finally run 5 miles in 45mins…then I’ll be done. No more running for me ever! HAHA even as I write this I kinda know, deep down, if I do achieve this goal, 8min/mile will be the next thing on my list.

Leave a Reply

