Post Papa Johns


Well.  That race kind of kicked my butt.  Lesson learned.  Work on hills. 

So, going on two days post race, I’m crazy sore and crazy tired.  In the middle of my usual work stretch, I ran ten miles, the furthest I’ve ever run, and I ran a hilly course, which I’ve never done before.  Good idea?  No, not really.  I can’t articulate how exhausted I am.  I expected sore.  I expected to be a little tired.  I didn’t expect the bionic level of fatigue I’m currenlty experiencing.  I’ll be glad to have a few nights off to (hopefully) recover.

Lowlights

  • Arriving pretty late thanks to traffic and not getting onto the race course until close to 8:40
  • And thanks to arriving so late, being the absolute dead last to start the race.  As a matter of fact, by the time we were able to park and get onto the course, they’d already taken down the start sign.
  • Not having an accurate finish time online.  Since my husband and I never officially crossed the start line, our time was 2:48.  Our real time was actually 2:13.
  • HILLS.
  • The lady with her portable radio in her back pack that was turned up very loud and playing music that I personally detest.  She did give me the drive to run really fast in those wretched hills.
  • Mile 4, when the hills began.
  • Mile 5 when the horrific IT band pain began.
  • Mile 7.5 when the horrific IT band pain reared it’s ugly head for the second time.
  • The “I can’t do this anymore” moment are mile 5, 7.5 and 9.
  • Having to work a 12 hour shift less than 10 hours after finishing the race.

Highlights

  • Running downhill
  • The little girl standing on the side of the course giving people high fives between mile 8 and 9.
  • The tree stump in Iroqouis park that had a smiley face spray painted on it.
  • Seeing the front runner nearly finishing the race just as my husband and I were starting our run.  He ran so effortlessly. 
  • Catching up to the police cars that were tailing the walkers and passing them.
  • Knowing that we started dead last and ran quickly enough that we still managed to pass several hundred people (mostly walkers, but some runners as well).
  • Seeing the number of young children who ran the race and completed it. 
  • Being able to say I’ve ran ten miles and feeling right on track to run the mini at the end of the month.  If I can do ten, I can do 13.1.
  • Having pushed through the “I can’t do this moments” to cross the finish line.
  • The non-hilly section of the race course.  The homes were gorgeous!  I want to live there!

Next on the agenda, The Zombie Run (5K) this upcoming Saturday.  Hopefully, the soreness will be gone!  Then, the big one in a few weeks: The Derby City Mini Marathon!  13.1!

Leave a Reply

