Discovering Dubstep


Thanks, Pandora and Youtube.  I have a new love.  Dubstep.

My first introduction was through Pandora.  A song came on, I liked it (loved it) and forgot about it.  But that’s the wonderful thing about Pandora.  If you like it, inevitably they will play it again.  The song kept coming back on, and I would think, “I really like this song!  Who is it?!?”  Then, something would distract me.  Children, household chores, work.  Whatever the distraction, I’d forget about the song and my intentions to research it.  Well, it came back on a few days ago, and I attempted to remember the name and artist.   By the time I was able to take the time to research, all I could remember was “cracks”.  And I didn’t know if that was the name of the song or a part of the band’s name.  Enter youtube.  Bless you, Youtube.  The first thing to pop up was exactly what I was looking for.

Freestylers feat. Belle Humble – Cracks (Flux Pavillion Remix)

And Youtube opened a whole new door to me.  Dubstep.  I’d recently ran across the term, but I had no idea dubstep was a type of music.  So I googled it, and this is what I found.

One of the fastest growing types of music in the world, dubstep is a new form of electronic music that combines heavy bass with samples, synthesizer, keyboard, turntables and hard-hitting drum tracks. Dubstep originated in South London, but has quickly spread to other areas of Western Europe and North America after initially getting some publicity on BBC Radio… and is fast-becoming a mainstream form of dance music around the world.

According to AllMusic, dubstep is described as:

“tightly coiled productions with overwhelming bass lines and reverberant drum patterns, clipped samples, and occasional vocals.”

More accurately, dubstep is simply dub music set to a two-step beat. The usage of samples laid over low-frequency (and typically oscillating) basslines is really what defines this type of music. While historically, dubstep has been described as dark & deep… there are now many forms of dubstep that have elements of trance music, electronica, hip-hop and even pop. Pretty much every track on the Billboard 100 has been remixed by independent artists as “dubstep.” This is pretty easy to imagine when you consider that dubstep is sample-driven music, typically ripped apart and mixed with copious amounts of bass that is sure to blow out your speakers.

Well, I need some of these tightly coiled productions with overwhelming bass lines and reverberant drum patterns, clipped samples, and occasional vocals on my running playlist.

So, for your viewing/listening enjoyment, here’s a few of my new favorite things on the planet.

Leave a Reply

