Being a nurse


What it means to be a nurse

I’ll be honest.  I don’t always love what I do.  I don’t always love being a nurse.  I won’t lie and say there weren’t days that I regretted ever even applying to nursing school.  For the most part, I do love my job.  I forget it sometimes, but I really do enjoy what I do.  There’s nothing better than helping patient through a difficult situation and afterwards being told they couldn’t have done it without me.  Just as there’s nothing better than having a patient in triage tell me they hope I’m there when they have their baby, or getting a thank you card, or even a simple thank you.  It’s so rewarding.  If only it could be that way every shift.

Unfortunately, there are all too many shifts in which it’s not all warm fuzzies.  The nights when it’s so crazy busy you don’t get to pee for 12 hours, never mind eat.  There are patients and family members that no matter how above and beyond you go, there’s just no pleasing them.  There are always upper administrative people creating more paperwork for you to do.  More charting, more charting, more charting while you still do everything you can to provide quality patient care.  There are the times that despite everyone’s best effort, you can’t save a life.

There are many ups and downs that are a part of being a nurse.  As I said, there are days that I don’t like what I do, but I will always be proud to be a nurse.

 

Being a NURSE means…

You will never be bored.
You will always be frustrated.
You will be surrounded by challenges.
So much to do and so little time.
You will carry immense responsibility
and very little authority.
You will step into people’s lives
and you will make a difference.
Some will bless you.
Some will curse you.
You will see people at their worst…
and at their best.
You will never cease to be amazed
at people’s capacity for
love, courage, and endurance.
You will see life begin…and end.
You will experience resounding triumphs
And devastating failures.
You will cry a lot.
You will laugh a lot.
You will know what it is to be human
and to be humane.

-Melodie Chenevert, RN

Leave a Reply

