Prepping for my first 5K


So this is how I’ve prepared for my first race tomorrow.

  • Woke up Thursday morning around 8am
  • Stayed up all Thursday
  • Went to work Thursday evening at 645 pm
  • Worked all night and got my butt kicked helping delivery babies
  • Came home Friday morning and went to bed a little after 8am
  • Got a text message at 11:20 warning me in regards to the impending tornado warnings
  • Couldn’t go back to sleep and made sure to give my babies hugs and kisses before my husband dropped them off at my parents
  • Finally fell asleep close to 1
  • Woke up at 3:10 to my husband calling me to take shelter
  • Spent 3:30 to 4:50(ish) in the cellar keeping updates on all my family and friends in the areas the tornados touched down
  • Emerged from the cellar just before 5pm thankful our house is intact and my family and friends are safe, if not a little traumatized by being in a building that sustained some damage and witnessing tornado touch downs
  • Called the unit at 5:15 to see if there was any chance they didn’t need me and I could stay at home on call
  • After being told no, put on my scrubs and scrounged up something to eat.
  • I will be on the floor, clocked in, and as ready to go as I can be at 6:45 tonight
  • I will work my 12 hour shift
  • I will run my first 5K tomorrow morning at 8:00

This is going to be interesting.

And for good measure, this is what was close to my parent’s house (where my children were, mind you).  Not sure who filmed it.

 

One thought on “Prepping for my first 5K

Leave a Reply

