Uncle Maddio’s


My family and I are pizza lovers.  Connoisseurs, even.  Each of us has a deep love and appreciation for pizza.  Too corny?  We really like pizza.  Especially my husband, who can easily devour an entire pizza on his own.  Towards the end of his training for the Louisville Ironman last year, he frequently eat a very full plate of whatever I made for dinner, then order a pizza for himself about thirty minutes later.  And he’d eat that pizza entirely on his own.  Whenever we go out of town, we find a new pizza joint to try.  Case in point, during our trip to St. Louis, our dinner was from a highly recommended St. Louis style pizza parlor.  We weren’t impressed, but that’s besides the point.  The point is WE LOVE PIZZA.  We love making new kinds of pizza, trying new pizza places, and ordering pizza from the established favorite places.

We have a new favorite place.

Uncle Maddio’s Pizza Joint, on the corner of Grinstead and Bardstown Rd.  There are a few others for you non Kentuckiana people, but I think the rest are all in Georgia.

Why Uncle Maddio’s is an A+

Several reasons.  First, the menu.  Three choices of pizza doughs, all made fresh each day.  Gluten free, wheat or white.  Sauce choices?  They have six, and I can’t wait to try each of them.  Ingredients?  Over 45!  Hormone-Free, Free-Range Chicken, organic baby spinach and field greens, gluten free options, vegan cheese as well as our fancy favorite cheeses (feta!), and the biggest selection of meats and veggies I’ve ever seen.  And, unlike other pizza places, they don’t charge extra for items like sun dried tomatoes, portobellos, or artichoke hearts.  All the ingredients are the same price, and laid out  in front of you behind glass.  The pizza guy assembles the pizza to your tastes, i.e., you can ask for a little extra or less of any ingredient, from sauce to cheese to topping.  Yum.

And let’s talk about the price.  Cheap!  We had three pizzas total (two 9″ pizzas with three toppings a piece and a children’s 6″ pizza with one topping) and drinks for only $17.  Next time we’ll probably get an appetizer or a salad, but we had already planned to save room for dessert from our favorite ice cream place, so the four of us were perfectly satisfied after finishing our pizzas.

Atmosphere.  Uncle Maddio’s has some major atmosphere.  It’s a little bit retro, a little bit artsy, a little bit really neat pizza parlor.

Now, you might laugh about this one, but I have to tell you about the drink dispenser.  It’s so freaking cool.  It’s a touch screen futuristic thing that I wish I had taken a picture of.  I mean, touch screen.  How cool is that?  And they have Diet Dr. Pepper, and not everywhere serves that.  What a shame.  It’s my drink of choice, and I personally feel it needs to be an option in every establishment, even non food ones.  Just saying.

Bottom line, I am in love.  My BFF and I have our monthly girl’s luncheon coming up this Sunday, and I’ve put forth Uncle Maddio’s as my suggestion.  Especially because you can like them on Facebook and get a coupon for a free personal (the 9″) three topping pizza.  Really good free pizza seems like a no brainer, but I haven’t heard back from her.

 

Leave a Reply

