Getting addicted…


Last year when I first added running a mini marathon to my bucket list and told my husband of my intentions, he was thrilled.  He started giving me all sorts of fun tidbits and information about running, printing off training schedules, namely Couch to 5K and was nothing but encouraging.  I made my commitment to a mini without being able to run for more than 30 seconds without getting seriously winded and feeling like my calves were on the verge of exploding.  A mini marathon was an ambitious goal, but it was my goal nevertheless.  And it was a vague goal initially.  It was more of “someday I want to run a mini marathon”, and it stayed that for a minute.  When I made the decision, I was in the midst of making five and ten year plans, which involved getting out of debt, going back to school ultimately for my Masters in Nursing and a hopeful baby number three.  The more I thought about it, I realized now was just as good as any time to start training for a mini marathon.  In fact, now was the most ideal time before school starts back this fall.  So, I was committed.  I was going to train for a mini marathon.

And I couldn’t run for more than 30 seconds without issues.  How was I going to do 13.1 miles?!

I started the Couch to 5K training program.  I followed it loosely last summer and got to a point where I could run about a mile and a half.  Then life happened, and I didn’t really run again until January.  And now, I’m up to five miles as my long run, on track for the Derby City Mini Marathon and the Triple Crown (a 5K, 10K and a 10 mile race over the course of a month).  My first 5K is just around the corner on March 3rd, and I’m geeked.  I’m a little apprehensive that I’m going to run it after having worked a 12 hour shift the night before, but I can do it.

So, running has been going relatively well, and it’s becoming addicting.  Last week I had to miss a short run, and I missed my run today because life happens.  They were both only one mile runs, and I plan to make up today tomorrow, and I’m itching to hit the pavement again.  Can I tell you I never anticipated having this mindset?  For me, and many others, I’m sure, running does nothing but make me feel validated.  It’s the best feeling to tackle a new distance and succeed, both mentally and physically.  I’m a happier person all around since I’ve been running.  And I’m getting skinnier.  I haven’t weighed myself in forever, but my clothes fit differently and more and more people are complimenting me.  It’s just good feelings all around.  It’s especially rewarding to think back to where I was when I first started running (again, couldn’t run for thirty seconds without stopping if you didn’t already catch that) and to think where I am now.  Right on track for 13.1 miles!

And without having completed my first race, I’m already looking into ones later in the year to do so that I keep up with running.  A friend of mine pinned this on Pinterest, and I am so excited.  As soon as my hubby gets home, I’m proposing this race and a mini getaway just the two of us planned around the race.  Check it out.

http://thecolorrun.com/

What is the Color Run?
The Color Run is a one of a kind experience that is less about speed and more about enjoying a color crazy day with your friends and family. Our events, are all about people of all different speeds, ages, shapes, and sizes toeing the start line. Whether you are a casual morning mall walker or an Olympic athlete, the 3 miles of the Color Run course will be the most enjoyable real estate you’ve traveled in a VERY long time.

How does it work?
The Color Run pretty much has 2 SIMPLE rules. 1. White shirts (any mostly white T will work great) mandatory at the start line and 2. Color plastered EVERYTHING at the finish!  Runner/walkers begin the 5k at the start line like a brand new pristine coloring book, they end looking like they fell into a Willy Wonka… tie dyed… vat of colored goodness.

What is the Color?
Each kilometer of the event is associated with a designated color.  1k is yellow, 2k is blue, 3k is green, 4k is pink, and the 5k finish is a “Color Extravaganza.”  As the runners/walkers hit the KILOMETER COLOR ZONE, they will be blitzed by our volunteers, sponsors, and staff with COLOR.  The color is a special “elf made” recipe of magical color dust.  All products are 100% natural and safe.  You can eat the stuff if you’d like (we have tried it and don’t suggest it, it is surprisingly high in calories and leaves a chalky aftertaste).

What about the finish line?
I think we can safely say our finish line is the best post-5k party on the PLANET.  After the finish, participants are encouraged to stick around, get Down, and see exactly how much COLOR their individual person can contain.  We will have bands, food, color, and festivities that will make your color powdered head spin.

I cannot wait!!  Not sure which one I want to do yet, but I can’t tell you how excited I am!

Leave a Reply

