Hour 24


In less than half an hour from now, I will have been awake for 24 hours, just as I am virtually every Friday morning.  Ah, to be a night shift nurse.  This is one of those most unfortunate mornings that I desperately needed wind down with a small breakfast before bed.  What a strange concept.  Breakfast before bed.  And “winding down” after being awake for 24 hours, what’s that about?  Every now and then, particularly if there’s “excitement” at the end of the shift, I’ll catch a second wind.   This is one of those times.  Thankfully, it won’t last long, and my milk and cereal will help send me into a crazy deep, coma-like sleep.  How long will that sleep last, who knows?  I tend to be so exhausted that I sleep really well for about four hours and wake up ready for another 12 hour shift at “the mothership”.  I really hope to sleep longer than that.  I need to run a mile or two before work.  Jeez…to wake up early for my health or to sleep for my health?  What to do, what to do…

Leave a Reply

