Five miles


Is there any better feeling than meeting a goal, particularly a goal that was a bit of a challenge?  Last night I realized I was going to have to tweak my running schedule a bit and change my long run day.  My son is having oral surgery Wednesday, and I didn’t want to have to worry about finding the time to run five miles with a groggy and cranky child at home.  That left Monday as the only day that would work for a long run, and I was not excited about running today.  I was so sore last week, and I just knew I’d still be sore .   The first mile was…difficult, as it always is for me.  I have new shoes, and this was only the second time to actually run in them.  I’ve been wearing them for the last week or so almost daily to help break them in, but, as I said, this was only the second time running in them, and the last run was just a mile.  Hence, shin pain.  I was only 3/4 of a mile into my run and just wanted to go back home.  But I kept running.  As with every run, after a mile, everything loosened up and I entered into that awesome state of mind I get when I’m running.  Ahh…

It was a pretty awesome day for a run.  It was a bit chilly, but I was comfortable.  The sun was up, and the sky was clear.  I had the newest “edition” of my running playlist to keep me going as I ran throughout downtown New Albany.  Can I just tell you how much I enjoy running in town as opposed to on a trail or the track in the park?  My husband is a big trail runner and frequently talks about the pro’s of trail running as opposed to running on sidewalks.  I tried that trail running.  I don’t like it.  I feel like I’m constantly going to trip, there’s mud and I’m paranoid about bugs getting in my hair.  And I really like nature, but I get bored with just trees, creeks and grass to look at.  I like my intercity running.  I get to window shop (sorta) at all of the fabulous boutiques, scope out the new restaurants that are popping up downtown and get to admire the century plus old homes on the historic stretches.

I think I’ve mentioned a time or two how slow I am.  Yeah…still slow, but I’ve made peace with that.  I’ve come to realize it’s not about how fast I can run the Derby City Mini Marathon and more about the fact that I am running it.  Todays time was 1:11:48.  I burned about 470 calories during that time, and I’m feeling pretty amazing.  I didn’t have time to really stretch much afterwards (had to get my little boy to preschool for his Valentine’s Day party), so I might be pretty sore tomorrow.  We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

