Marshmallow pops for 45


Today, I had two major items on my to do list.  Number one, run four miles.  Number two, make marshmallow pops for my son’s preschool party next Monday.  I tackled my run first thing this morning, and, all-in-all, it went well.  It was really cold (upper 30’s), and my calves were already sore.  On top of everything, I had been up a few times with my little boy complaining of an upset stomach, so I was tired and really just wanted to stay in bed.  But I sucked it up and went for my four mile run, my longest run to date!  Woohoo!  I’m still slow as sludge, but I can say I’ve now ran four miles.  I didn’t think I would get excited about my taper week next week, but I’m sore.  Tapering sounds good.  🙂

With my run out of the way, my oldest in preschool and my youngest napping, I moved on to my second big task of the day: making marshmallow pop for 39 little ones, 4 teachers and a few extras.  I think I actually did 50 pops in all.  Initially, it seemed like a daunting projects, and I was cursing myself for not just buying the Angry Birds valentine’s I know my son would have loved.  With as much as we have going on over the next week, they were very tempting.  If I wasn’t going to have to buy two boxes to have enough for my son’s class, I probably would have just done those.  But my little boy and I have been looking at DIY Valentine’s for about a month now, and he’s pretty excited about the marshmallow pops.  So, I stuck with the original plan, bought my marshmallows (strawberry and regular ones), chocolate chips, sprinkles and a package of 50 cake pop sticks from Joann’s and started making them as my daughter napped.  Let me tell you, when I first started, it was a little overwhelming.  I thought it was going to take forever to make all those pops. Guess what.  It didn’t.  I took like an hour and a half from start to finish, including making “Happy Valentine’s Day, from Brendan” tags and wrapping each pop in a small piece of saran wrap and tying it off with a pretty ribbon.  As a matter of fact, cutting enough pieces of saran wrap and making the tags by far was the most time consuming part of the project.

Here’s how you do it.  Purchase the aforementioned goodies for your marshmallow pops.  Start by spearing one marshmallow per cake pop stick.  Place your “speared” marshmallows on a cookie sheet lined with a piece of parchment paper, like so.

In a small sauce pan, melt your chocolate chips on low until completely melted.  Dip your marshmallow into the chocolate.  I covered just the bottom 1/4th of the marshmallow.

Roll your marshmallow with it’s still warm chocolate in your sprinkles.

Set your marshmallow pop on your parchment paper and allow to completely cool before wrapping to give away.  Easy, right?  All that’s left is to wrap them and tag them to give away.  They were so easy to make, and will make a fun Valentine’s gift for my little boy to hand out at his party.

 

One thought on “Marshmallow pops for 45

Leave a Reply

