Mashed potato pizza


My family LOVES pizza.  It’s very nearly a weekly menu item.  We keep stuff on hand constantly to make pizza at home.  Store bought pre made crust from Trader Joe’s that can easily be frozen, marinara sauce and cheese are staples in our home.  My husband makes pizza quite often the weekend when I’m working, and this last week he made one of my favorite pizzas: mashed potato pizza.  It.  Is.  So.  Good.  Trust me.  I know it sounds a little odd, and I’ll admit I was leery when my husband first told me about it.  Believe me though, it is tasty.

My husband first discover this pizza in 2010 in Minneapolis.  He was there for his first full marathon.  I was just a couple weeks postpartum with my daughter, and I wasn’t up for traveling with a newborn and a then three year old.  Not to mention keeping them happy while he was running 26.2.  My in-laws ended up going up to cheer him on.  Before the marathon, my in laws treated my husband to dinner.  Of course, considering my husband’s great love of pizza, he chose to eat at a pizzeria.  They choose to eat at Pizza Luce.  OMG.  Can I tell you how amazing the menu is?

http://pizzaluce.com/

It’s very vegetarian/vegan/gluten free friendly, and they have super unique specialty pizzas.  I’m sad I haven’t had the chance to dine there myself, but I love our version of the mashed potato pizza.

Ingredients:

  • Premade pizza crust
  • Garlic mashed potatoes (preferably made from scratch, but I guess you could do the instant stuff)
  • Feta
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Onions (for those who like onions)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Roll out your pizza dough then spread a thick layer of mashed potatoes on the crust.  Sprinkle crumbled feta and diced tomatoes over mashed potatoes.  Add onions too if you like onions (I don’t, so half the pizza was onion free).  Salt and pepper to taste.  Cook at 350 for 17 minutes or until crust is getting that pretty golden hue.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

