Running schedule


Finally!  I have an official training schedule for the Derby City Mini Marathon!  My husband had one of his running buddies create a training program for me at the beginning of the year, but it was a bit intense for my current lifestyle and busy schedule.  As much as I wish I did, I can’t quite commit to running five days a week.  I tried.  I really did.  Perhaps if it weren’t for working nightshift and so many hours of overtime, I may have been a bit more successful with that schedule.  So, for the last few weeks, I was tentatively following my husband’s training schedule for his first mini marathon, and was pleased at how that was working for me. 

But then it came to my attention the mini was just a short 12 weeks away, and I needed to try to get a little more serious.  12 weeks really isn’t that long to get up to 13.1 miles.  Not when you think about tapering and all that fun stuff.  So, I have FINALLY plotted out my training schedule, and I’m a little bit geeked.

The problem, including tapering weeks, I’m a week behind where I’d ideally be at in the training program.  I wanted to cut one of those tapering weeks out, but my husband advised against that quite strongly, then proceded to educate me about the purpose of tapering weeks, risk for injury, so on, so forth.  The three taper weeks remain, and I won’t run 13 miles until the mini.  I get close (12 miles two weeks prior to the mini), but, as I said, I won’t run the magic 13.1 until April 27th.  This makes me a little apprehensive, but it is what it is.  I should have committed to training seriously a bit sooner.

So, this is what the next 12 weeks of my life look like:

Week ending    Sun.    Mon.    Tues.    Wed.   Thur.    Fri.     Sat.     Total

2/11                         X            2             X               4           X               1          X             7

2/18                        X            2             X                5           X               1          X             8

2/25                       X             1             X                3           X               1          X             5

3/3                          2             1             X                6           X               1          X             10       

3/10                       2              1            X                 7          X               X         3.1          13.1 

3/17                       X              2            X                 8          X              2          X              12

3/24                       2              1             X                 9          X              X         6.1            18.2  

3/31                        3              2            X                 6          X               2         X              13  

4/7                          4               X           X                 3           X              X         10            17

4/14                        1               3            X                 3           X              12       X               19   

4/21                         3              5            X                 4           X               6        X               18 

4/28                         3              2            X                 1            X               X       13.1!        19

One thought on “Running schedule

  1. I was suggested this blog by way of my cousin. I am now not sure whether this put up is written by him as no one else realize such specified about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

