Unsuccessful run


As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve committed myself to running Louisville’s Derby City Mini Marathon.  To date, I’ve still haven’t gone further than just over two miles.  This was one of those “what was I thinking when I signed myself up for 13.1 miles?” kind of days.  I just finished work week, chop full of overtime and labor and delivery business, haven’t been sleeping well when I work (it can be hard sleeping at a time your body is hardwired to be awake), and have been in a funk with all this dreary winter weather and couldn’t convince myself to run.  It was cold.  It was rainy.  I was tired.  So on, so forth.  Yesterday, I woke to sunshine and did a run/walk combo and felt great.  Today, I dragged myself out of bed early (2 pm for a nightshift RN is like 4 am for all daylight workers), and went for a two mile run.  

Fail.

I can’t breathe!  I feel like I have a weight on my chest.  I’m coughing now, and my hips are sore.  Boo.  I had a hard time this run.  I ended up walking the last 1/2 mile because I had such a difficult time breathing.  My husband (a seasoned runner who’s done plenty of mini and full marathons and completed the Louisville Ironman last August) says it’s from a combo of not running in over a week and the cold.  Hmm.  

Moving on…as I was struggling to get even a mile in, I thought about myself as a runner.  I’m not a natural born athlete.  I like to walk, but I didn’t like to run until recently.  I’m an incredibly SLOW runner.  I can see my shadow, and I know I’m not one of those graceful runners.  I’m REALLY slow (saying once doesn’t fully relay how slow of a runner I am).  I have to constantly coax myself along as I run (just get to that stop sign, just get to that tree, just get to that street).  I really need to make a running playlist because there are a lot of songs I’ve found I can’t run to.  My hips hurt.  My quads are sore.  My tennis elbow is acting up and my right hand was a little tingling.  I kept thinking of all the things that weren’t ideal and how I’m such a wimpy runner.  How am I going to run 13.1 miles?

Then I had that moment where I told myself to suck it up.  I WILL run the mini.  And if I can do it, so can a whole lot of other people.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

