Another L&D funny story


Last night I work, one of our environmental employees (cleaning lady) found a note a patient had written to the father of her children.  It was tucked away in the drawer of the bedside table.  This is not the first time we’ve found letters or notes written to family members or persons of interest in labor and delivery.  Usually, the notes are harmless and rather dull.  A quick glance over to ensure it isn’t anything important or can violate HIPPA in any fashion, and then the majority of the time, the note ends up in the trash.  This is not about the benign “please bring my phone charger, pajama bottoms with the hearts or boppy pillow when you come back to the hospital”.  Hello, can we say boring?  Why would I take the time to write about a boring note?  No, this falls in the “what not to do when you’re in labor” category.

This was a note written by a young patient about to deliver her third baby.  From the note, it’s obvious the father of the baby isn’t actively involved in the patient’s life and has a new woman in his life.  The patient makes a plea for him to leave the current woman and come back to her.   It’s all very soap opera-ish, and, when I stop to think about it, it’s also a little heartbreaking.  Heartbreaking or not, I was thrown into a fit of giggles when I read the following exert:

“I want you to make love to me all night and kiss me all over.  It makes me feel like you don’t really want to lick and kiss me all over.  It makes me feel like you think I am not clean or that I taste bad.”

I don’t even know what to say in response to that, other than to say this is clearly a “what not to do when you’re in labor.”

2 thoughts on “Another L&D funny story

  1. Ummm wow!!! I just don’t know what to say. I think maybe she should probably focus on the current task at hand and worry about licking. Just sayin.

Leave a Reply

