DIY Valentine’s project


With less than a month to go before Valentine’s Day, I decided it was time to get going with decorating the house in various shades of pink and red.  I have very few Valentine’s decorations.  Had very few decorations, I should say.  What little I did have, I tucked into a tote and put in our cellar.  Last summer, our cellar flooded.  Like 10 inches of standing water flooding.  It caused quite a bit of damage to everything stored down there, including an assortment of Christmas, Halloween and Valentine’s decorations.  So, I’m in the process of acquiring and making new decorations.  And here’s a tutorial on the first project.

Crayon hearts: a super easy DIY Valentine’s project that I saw on Pinterest.

Pretty, huh?

Here’s what you need:

  • Crayons (obviously)
  • Wax paper
  • Parchment paper
  • Iron
  • Pencil sharpener
  • Embroidery floss, silk thread or really thin ribbon
  • Needle with an eye large enough to thread your floss, thread or ribbon
  • Scissors

Shavings!

First things first, make your crayon shavings.  You can use a handheld pencil sharpener, which probably be best if you’re doing this with children, but I after a crayon broke off and clogged the sharpener for the umpteenth time, I ended up using my scissors.  It worked out quite well for me but not something to let your little ones do.  One crayon per color makes plenty of hearts in a variety of sizes.  Step numero two, bust out the wax paper.  I used a piece about 16 inches long per color.  Sprinkle your shavings in the middle of your wax paper and fold in half.  The original tutorial (found on http://www.marthastewart.com) advised to fold the three open ends of your wax paper to make an envelope of sorts.  I recommend you do this.  The first time, I skipped this step.  As the crayon melts, it really spreads out.  So much so that it can go all the way to the edge of the wax paper and end up on the counter top.  Opps.  Lesson learned, fold the edges and make the envelope.  Sandwich the wax paper envelope between two pieces of parchment paper.  Be sure to do this step as well.  This was my second lesson of the day.  First go around, I didn’t use it and ended up with crayon on my iron and a residue on my counter top.  It was relatively easy to clean up, but I made sure to use parchment paper with heart number two.  With the heat set on low, iron your parchment paper/wax paper/crayon shaving sandwich until shavings are evenly melted onto wax paper.  Allow to cool.  Once cooled, you can cut out your hearts to your heart’s content.  You can free hand your hearts or make a template.  I did a combo of both.  To make a template, remember back to third grade when you folded a piece of paper in half and cut a J shape.  I don’t know a better way to describe the process, and I don’t have a picture.  I hope you can picture what I’m trying to convey.

Once you’ve cut out all of your heart shapes, it’s time to string them!  I used embroidery floss because it’s the one thing I have in great abundance around the house.  Using your embroidery needle and thread, string each heart.  I strung mine at varying lengths.  I hung mine from the curtain rod on our kitchen door, but I plan to make a set to hang from an embroidery hoop.  I’ll post pics.  I might also make a set to string from one of our ceiling lights.  It’d be pretty on a chandelier, don’t you think?  Sigh…wish I had a chandelier.

Leave a Reply

