Breakfast pizza


And now, ladies and gentlemen, another fabulous recipe!

My family LOVES pizza.  On average, we make a pizza per week it seems.  The majority of them are made when I’m in the middle of my work stretch, which consists of working 7pm to 7am and sleeping from 8am to 4pm.  I’m not exactly up for cooking during my three or four day stretch, so my husband usually takes over making dinner.  He makes pizza about 99% of the time.  Don’t get me wrong, I love pizza.  But I’ve gotten bored with the typical mozzarella, marinara and topping combo.  We tried white pizzas with pesto (yum), mashed potato pizza with feta (also yum), and this week’s pizza experiment was a breakfast pizza (YUM).  I got the original idea from Pinterest (have I told you lately how much I love that site?), and, as I do with virtually every recipe, I tweaked it to my taste buds and family’s lifestyle.  See original recipe here. http://fakeginger.com/2010/08/21/breakfast-pizza/

Breakfast Pizza Recipe:

  • Store bought pre made pizza dough or make it from scratch.  Whatever you prefer.  I used a pre made dough from Trader Joe’s and will always use pre made dough from Trader Joe’s.
  • Six to seven strips of bacon.  Morning star veggie bacon in our case for all the vegetarians.
  • 2 cups shredded potatoes.  Trader Joe’s shredded hash browns were my potato of choice.
  • 1 cup grated parmesan
  • a generous cup of shredded mozzarella
  • 4 eggs
  • salt and pepper to taste

To start, roll out your pizza dough.  If you haven’t worked with pizza dough before, have some extra flour or cornmeal to sprinkle on your surface and rolling pin to the dough isn’t sticking to everything.  Set aside.  Cook your bacon or veggie bacon until crispy.  Set aside and cool.  I suppose you wouldn’t have to sauté your hash browns before hand, but I did.  Layer hash browns on pizza crust.  Then crumble your bacon/veggie bacon (or whatever breakfast meat suits your fancy).  Top with your mozzarella and parmesan.  Crack open your eggs and place on pizza.  Now, when I make this again, I will leave a section sans eggs for my husband and will do just egg whites for the rest of the family.  Not a fan of yolks.  None of us are.  Moving on, salt and pepper to taste.  Bake pizza at 375 for 17 minutes.  Then enjoy!

I wish I could show you my picture!  I took it with my phone, and now I can’t get it off my phone.  My computer isn’t quite cooperating with me.  But I can tell you it was pretty, and it was tasty.  Try it!

Leave a Reply

