Morning glory muffins!


Morning glory muffins. One of my favorite foods. I discovered this recipe when I was still in nursing school, my husband in culinary school and had a newborn to take care of. They were a great grab-and-go breakfast food or snack. Over the years I’ve tweaked the recipe and experimented with different ingredients. This time around I experimented with Stevia (an all natural sugar substitute that you can learn more about from http://www.steviaintheraw.com/).  I did part sugar in the raw (http://www.sugarintheraw.com/) and part stevia. I have a weakness for these muffins and needed to find a way to reduce the calories. Enter stevia. I tried ½ and ½ and will most certainly do that combo again.

Base recipe

*2cups flour

*1 1/4 cups sugar

*2 teaspoons baking soda

*2 teaspoons cinnamon 

*1/4 teaspoon salt

*2 cups grated carrots

*1/2 cup dried fruit

*1/2 cup walnuts

*1/2 cup unsweetened flaked coconut

*1 apple peeled and grated

*3 eggs (or egg substitute if you want vegan muffins) or 5 egg whites

*1 cup applesauce or olive/flax/veggie oil

*2 teaspoons vanilla

 

This is a very forgiving and fabulous recipe.  I’ve used grated sweet potatoes and zucchini instead of carrots, tried different types of nuts and dried fruits,  and used a pear instead of an apple before.  Craisins, dates, dried cherries and blueberries are my dried fruits of choice, and I typically quadruple the amount.  The same goes for the nuts.  Quadruple the amount. Unless you need a lower fat muffin. Then do not quadruple the nuts. I didn’t have walnuts this time around, so I did sunflower seeds. Yum. I also didn’t have any coconut, and truth be told I frequently omit the coconut.  Oh, and don’t be afraid to be generous with the vanilla and cinnamon.

Mix all your dry ingredients, then add carrots, dried fruit, apple, nuts and coconut.  Then add eggs, applesauce, carrots, apple and vanilla.  Fill muffin tins about 2/3 full.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.  Easy peasy. Enjoy!

Helping mommy making muffins

Leave a Reply

