Snow, edible play dough, and a bit of embroidery


Today was one of those exceedingly rare days in which my husband and I were both off, and we didn’t have some sort of commitment that tied up the majority of the day.  That just doesn’t happen often for us, so it was a nice unexpected treat.  Second unexpected treat of the day…a little dusting of snow on the ground!  We’ve had the most peculiar winter this year.  It’s been an incredibly mild season.  Thanks, global warming.  What a nice surprise to see those fat white flakes swirling around.  My little ones were so excited.  My oldest had big plans to make a snowman and snow angels with that little quarter inch of snow that stuck to the ground.  I hated bursting that bubble.  I wish there was enough to really play in.  But even if there had been, everyone has some sort of upper respiratory infection and doesn’t need to be out playing in the cold.  So, we played inside.  Video games (Skyward Sword and Just Dance), baking, making edible play dough, movies, and building forts.  We did boring things too…cleaning, laundry after fixing the washing machine, and more cleaning.

So.  Let’s talk about this edible play dough.  OMG.  We made quite the mess and had so much fun making, playing with and eating it.  I found the original recipe on Pinterest but tweaked it until I found the ideal consistency.

*1 cup creamy peanut butter

*1 stick softened butter

*3 cups confectioner’s sugar

Throw it all in a big bowl and using your (clean) hands, mash and mix together until it holds its shape.  Believe it or not, it’s really not any stickier than store-bought play dough.  Your kids can eat it and you don’t have to worry about chemicals or dyes.  Make it with all natural/organic ingredients, and then all you have to worry about when your little ones eat it is a possible sugar high.  When you’re done, pop it in a tupperware container and save for tomorrow.  I don’t think you even have to refrigerate it.  I didn’t.  I’m not sure how long it’ll be good for.  Between my two little ones, I imagine it’ll be eaten before it can spoil.  🙂

Now that things are winding down here, I’ve got a bottle of River City Winery’s (http://www.facebook.com/pages/River-City-Winery/110939538152 or http://www.rivercitywinery.com/) Strawberry Cyclone wine and an embroidery project calling to me.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

