10 ways Pinterest changed my life for the better.


I was introduced to Pinterest last November by one of my coworkers.  We were slow that night and needed something to keep us awake until seven am (ah, the joys of being a night shift labor and delivery nurse).  I’d seen enough Pinterst posts on Facebook before that to stir my curiosity but not enough for me to really investigate the site.  I got my invite and have been addicted ever since.  I am in L.O.V.E. with Pinterest, and, as cheesy as this will sound, Pinterest has changed my life.  For the better.  And this is how.

1.  Recipes!  Such a plethora of recipes to flit through.  I finally broke out of making the same 20ish things over and over thanks to my food board.  Some of my favorite things I’ve discovered have been a Mexican Shepherd’s Pie, Dreamsicle cookies, Weight Watchers Lemon cake, Vegetarian “Chicken” and Dumplings, and Roasted red pepper and corn risotto.  Just to list off a few.  Best of all, I don’t have to print them off if I don’t want to.  They stay neatly pinned to my board.  I even have a section to leave comments on what I did to change the recipe, which I tend to do frequently.

2.  Gift Ideas:  When I give gifts, I like to either make them or buy them locally.  For the last three years, my hubby and I have given predominately handmade gifts.  Last Christmas, we mixed it up with some gifts from some of our local shops and restaurants.  Pinterest has some amazing DIY/homemade gifts for all occasions.  I made a few and pinned the rest for this year.  A fair amount of them are gifts that I would never have thought of on my own.  Since my husband and I decided this year we weren’t going to get gifts for each other for our first date anniversary, Valentine’s Day is my next big holiday, and I cannot wait!  My son and I have been looking at homemade Valentines cards for his class and gifts for his teachers.  Again, I cannot wait!

3.  Projects to do with my kiddos:  I have a board that is all stuff to do with my babies, which comes in handy on rainy days like today.  I’ve found sites to print coloring pages from, sites with crafts for toddlers to preschoolers,  sites with science experiments, sites with tutorials/patterns for clothing…the list goes on and on.  And on.  Tomorrow, I’m making edible play dough with my son.  I’ll give a full report tomorrow.

4.  Home decor:  Okay, not really life changing, but I have a board full of whimsical, colorful inspirations for my home.  Again, not life changing, but they make me happy.  I love updating my century old home, and Pinterest has given me soooo many ideas.

5.  Tutorials:  I’m a DIYer.  I love doing things for myself.  I may not be the best at it, but by God, I enjoy it.  There are tutorials on everything imaginable, and having the capability to pin them and keep them neatly organized in one place, genius.  Anything from reupholstering furniture to making curtains and bedspreads to building a chicken coup can be found, viewed, and pinned.

6.  Organization and cleaning tips:  So, this has been the biggie for me.  I have a funky schedule.  4 days a week or so, I have two children and a home to keep in order.  I keep a “normal” people’s schedule on these days, i.e., up in the morning, sleep when the sun goes down.  Then, I have my work schedule.  Night shift RN working all my required days in a row and working mostly weekends.  Typical schedule for me is a work three, off four kind of thing, but every now and then, that schedule may get jacked up, and I do something like work six 12 hour shifts in a row.  There was a point in time I tried to have one day be my cleaning day.  That wasn’t working for me.  I felt like my house was a disaster state.  Then, thanks to good ol’ Pinterest, I found weekly cleaning schedules promising to keep your house in tip top shape with only 15-30 minutes of effort put in each day.  I’ve done some tweaking and finally and worked out something that really does seem to help me keep my house in good order and doesn’t leave me feeling like all I do is clean house.  I’m not as cranky as I was now that my house stays pretty clean.  Not only is my house cleaner, it’s actually getting more and more organized.  Again, all thanks to Pinterest.  Clean, organized house=happy me.  Happy me=happy family.  See how this Pinterest thing can be life altering?  🙂  One of these days, I’ll share that cleaning schedule on here for those interested.  It’s a must.

7.  …

Okay, so I lied.  Pinterest has improved my life, but I don’t know if I could come up with 10 ways in which it has.  I mean, #4 may have been a bit of a stretch.  Bottom line is, I love Pinterest.  I endorse it, I suppose.  It had the potential to be a colossal waste of time, but it hasn’t been for me.  Get someone to invite you today.  Do it.

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “10 ways Pinterest changed my life for the better.

  1. I completely agree! I found it in 2011 as well and just can’t imagine life without it now. Lol. Although it does tend to be a time vacuum. But hey, it pays off right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

