In the beginning…


It’s a new year, and I’m like everyone else, making resolutions.  To run the Derby City Mini Marathon (in April), loose those last pesky pounds that I put on between my two kiddos, take more time for myself, be more mindful of everyone’s special days and acknowledge holidays and such, and to do yoga everyday for a hundred days with my yoga instructor of a hubby…those were mine.  I’ve already broken one, which was inevitable.  Everyone breaks resolutions; no one follows through with ALL of theirs.  Daily yoga for 100 days…I knew I’d botch that one up.  It was my hubby’s resolution, and I thought it was a cool idea.  I added it to my list.  I don’t feel too guilty about having already missed the last three days of yoga poses (I blame it on being a busy nurse working night shift and having an unfortunate situation in one of my closest friend’s life arising), but I do wish I had kept that resolution for longer than a week.  Oh, well.  Que sera, sera, right?

So, that brings me to the birth of this blog.  I’ve always wanted a blog of my own.  Naturally, as I’m sure everyone who creates a blog, I feel I’ve got loads of brilliant ideas floating around in my noggin.  I can’t help to imagine a mass of people turning to my little spot on the internet and relishing in my deep insight, witty use of words, quirky ideas, fabulous recipes, awesome tutorials, etc.  Allow me to pause and snort and suppress giggles.  In all reality, I’ll be geeked if anyone ever reads this.  But this isn’t about inspiring the masses.  It’s about me.  It’s about me taking a small chunk of my day and investing it into myself.  I haven’t been the best about that since I became a momma.  I love being a mother, and my children have added a wonder to my life that I wouldn’t trade for anything.  But, I spend a lot of time ignoring myself and putting them first, always first.  While they are always at the top of my list, will always be my number one priority, dammit, I’m taking some me time.  A few extra minutes in the morning to put on my makeup, a few extra minutes in the evening for long showers, and a few extra minutes throughout the weeks to blog.  Because I want to.  And thus, it begins.

That being said, dinner needs my attention.   It has simmered in the crockpot on low for the last eight hours, and the time has come to put the finishing touches on it.

Cheers.

From a time when it was mostly about me.

Leave a Reply

